- UB Mongolia branch

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales

Northern Territory


South Australia



Western Australia

Certificate IV in Hospitality (Supervision) (THH42602)

Industry Group: Tourism and Hospitality


Occupation Type: Hotel Service Manager


A Certificate IV in Hospitality (Supervision) reflects the role of team leaders or supervisors across all functional areas and sectors of the hospitality industry.


Career Opportunities

Employment at supervisory level in a range of departments in the food and beverage, accommodation and housekeeping sectors of the hospitality industry.


Entry Requirements

Certificate III in Hospitality (Operations), or substantial relevant industry experience in the hospitality area. Students who have successfully completed Certificate III in Hospitality (Operations) will be able to complete the Certificate IV in Hospitality (Supervision) in one semester.


Estimated completion time: 1 year/s
Part time study is also available.


Course Structure


VET in Schools (VETiS) Program


When this course or individual units of competency are offered as a VETiS program, it is only offered on a part time basis. The course and unit details listed below are for main stream VET students.
  • When undertaking this course as a VETiS program, the details of units offered, duration and realistic achievement will be provided at the time that the prospective student completes a DEET 'Expression of Interest to undertake a VET program" form.
  • VETiS programs are offered to Secondary School students as a process of enabling informed career choices to be made and to allow for a head start to that career.
  • VETiS programs should be viewed as a training pathway that will lead to a future career. The achievement of that career is unlikely to be achieved while still at Secondary School.
Course Requirements for main stream VET students

To achieve a Certificate IV in Hospitality Supervision students must complete a total of TWENTY EIGHT (28) units of competency. This comprises FIFTEEN (15) core units of competency plus THIRTEEN (13) elective unit of competency.


At least 7 of the 13 elective units must be selected from one or more of the functional areas of the Hospitality or Tourism Training Packages including front office, housekeeping, food and beverage and general. The remaining elective units may be selected from other areas of the Hospitality Training Package or any other relevant endorsed Training Package with the approval of the Course Coordinator. Please note that in all cases selection of electives must be guided by the job outcome, local industry requirements and the characteristics of this qualification.


Total Nominal Course Hours: The total Nominal Course Hours for the sequence listed below is 851.


Employability Skills

Employability Skills are embedded in the training and assessment of national training package qualifications.


Skills Recognition


-Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)


RPL is the acknowledgement of a person's skills and knowledge acquired through previous training, work or life experience, which may be used to grant status or credit in a subject regardless of how and where they were attained, including overseas.
This can include skills from:
  • Previous study excluding courses at another VET/TAFE institution, but including courses at school or college,
  • through adult education classes or training programs at work;
  • Work experience (including both work that is paid and unpaid); and/or
  • Life experience (for example leisure pursuits or voluntary work).
RPL is a form of assessment. It is used to determine whether a person has acquired, through formal or informal learning, the skills and experience consistent with the stated competency standards that comprise a qualification. RPL is not time referenced, so there are no parameters on how or when the skills are acquired. However, the skills that have been acquired through life experience etc., must be current and must match the elements and performance criteria contained in the individual unit.


Students seeking RPL need to indicate this on their enrolment form at the time of enrolment.


-Credit Transfer or Recognition of Previous Study


Charles Darwin University as a Registered Training Organisation recognises the Australian Qualifications Framework qualifications and Statement of Attainments issued by any other Australian Registered Training Organisation.
Students are encouraged to submit any requests for credit from previous studies at the time of enrolment, to ensure they are not enrolling in units they may not need to undertake.


In order to apply for exemption/credit transfer from units completed at another training organisation, you will need to complete an Application for Exemption Form available from any campus, centre, or team, or a copy of the form can be obtained from the web.


Your completed Application for Exemption form together with attached documentary evidence (certified copy of Qualification/Statement of Attainment) to support your request for exemption/credit transfer should be submitted directly to the University either in person or by mail. Requests without documentary evidence will not be processed and will be returned to students. There are no fees attached to Credit Transfers.

Back to Charles Darwin University

To enrol and find out course fees, intake dates, entry requirements and more details about courses and the Institute please click on the Enquiry button and complete our form and one of our staff member will get back to you very soon.


Study Programs in Australia

Why Study in Australia

Work & Study

Visa Information

About Us

© 2017 Blue Water Study Service Pty Ltd Home| Copyright & Disclaimer | Privacy Policy Website by PaperWeb Design