- UB Mongolia branch

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales

Northern Territory


South Australia



Western Australia

Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Laws

About the Course
This combined degree provides students with the generic skills and understanding of humanities and social sciences in conjunction with legal education for the practice of law.


The Arts course provides graduates with the ability to understand and study human society. It develops high levels of written and oral communication skills in the Humanities and Social Sciences, including Anthropology, History, Greek, Chinese and Indonesian Studies, Political Science and Sociology. It prepares graduates for research training at Honours and postgraduate level. It is available for external and internal modes of study.


The Arts course includes specialist pathways of study in History and Cultural Heritage, in Social Science (Psychology and Sociology), in Regional and International Studies (including Southeast Asian Studies), Languages and in Indigenous Knowledge (Yolngu Culture). Combinations of these specialist areas of study provide graduates with distinctive qualifications that lead to interesting and rewarding careers. The course builds on the university┐s unique location in northern Australia, adjacent to Southeast Asia. Employment opportunities include Federal, State and Territory government, land councils, museums, non-government agencies and the corporate sector, particularly where these organizations engage with Central and Northern Australia and Asia.


The Law course aims to provide knowledge of the legal system and legal principles, and to cultivate a capacity for legal research, analysis and communication. The course also deals with theoretical perspectives on the law and encourages an appreciation of legal issues of special significance to the Northern Territory, including Aboriginal legal issues.


Graduates of this combined degree are awarded both the Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws.


Course Structure
The Arts course requires completion of four introductory core units and two areas of approved specialisations. Candidates may complete the requirements for the course by completing two Common Units, two sequences of approved study each of 60 credit points each, and electives. Sequences of study include specialisations in History and Cultural Heritage, Social Science (Psychology and Sociology), Regional and International Relations, and Languages (Greek, Chinese and Indonesian), and Indigenous Knowledge (Yolgnu Culture).


The Law course comprises of six Specialist Electives and 17 Core units in the law program. Core units in law include Legal Process Research and Writing, Introduction to Public Law, Constitutional Law, Principles of Criminal Law, Torts A, Criminal Law and Procedure, Torts B, Contracts A, Equity, Contracts B, Trusts, Administrative Law, Property A, Property B, Corporations, Evidence and Civil Procedure.


A candidate must successfully complete units totalling 400 credit points


Of the total 400 credit points:
-Not more than 50 credit points shall be included with a grade of "PT" or "PC" or "PS"


The law degree will only be awarded following completion of the non-law and law course components totalling 400 credit points. Law double degree courses require completion of at least 20 credit points of common units, 240 credit points of law units and 140 credit points of non-law units.

There are Admission Requirements and English Language Requirements for International Students.

Back to Charles Darwin University

To enrol and find out course fees, intake dates, entry requirements and more details about courses and the Institute please click on the Enquiry button and complete our form and one of our staff member will get back to you very soon.


Study Programs in Australia

Why Study in Australia

Work & Study

Visa Information

About Us

© 2017 Blue Water Study Service Pty Ltd Home| Copyright & Disclaimer | Privacy Policy Website by PaperWeb Design